Best or Worst?

Recently I posed a question on a popular social networking site, inquiring why it is so much easier for us to believe the worst about a person rather than the best. It seems to me that no matter how much good a person does, when negative words or rumors are spoken, the initial reaction is not to consider that what we have heard may be inaccurate. Rather our minds and mouths fill with “OMG,” or “I should have known,” or “I told you so.”

This is especially true when it comes to life as a leader. As leaders, one slip of the tongue, one accusation – whether true or false, one bad move on our part, can result in the destruction of all of the good that we’ve done. One… can cause people to doubt our credibility and call. And all of this is enough to make me cautious as a leader and careful how I live. The real is that we ALL (leader or not) have faults, and the level of impact has to do with the amount of people our good side and good deeds have influenced, not that a leader’s sins are more sinful. It’s the level of impact.

I don’t profess to know the answer(s) to my own question of “why is it so easy for us to believe the worst about a person rather than the best?” However, here are some random wild guesses as I try to figure it out (bear with me as I think out loud)

Option #1 It takes the attention and focus off of our own faults and weaknesses

Option #2 Gossip is more appealing to us than we would care to admit

Option #3 Assumption is more comfortable than inquiring

What do you think? Feel free to leave a comment and share your thoughts.

Posted on 2010/09, in Random and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

