Trusting God Again…

Trust God from the bottom of your heart;
don’t try to figure out everything on your own.
Listen for God’s voice in everything you do, everywhere you go;
he’s the one who will keep you on track.
Don’t assume that you know it all. (Proverbs 3:5-6)

Here comes randomness!

Although some Christians are afraid to admit it, let me be one to admit the truth. I know a lot of Bible, I go to Church, but truth be told, I move from days of being extremely encouraged to days of being deeply discouraged as I consider my life and ministry. Today happened to be one of those deeply discouraging days – a day when I became frustrated with God because I ask Him questions and He won’t provide answers, a day when the things that I hope for seem as though they will never be an experienced reality. A day when vision seems obsolete or at least real far away. A day when I found myself yelling at God because of my frustration with waiting on Him. I am hungry for Him and for His plan for my life. I just want to make a difference…. Yet, there is silence and confusion.

And then I listened to a sermon by one of my former pastors Dr. David Ireland that left me with the impression that I shouldn’t give up just yet, and maybe even use the frustration as fuel to empower me to keep believing and trusting. While listening to the message, I received an email reminder from a dear friend who reminded me of where he (and I) were and where he now is. When we met I think on some level we were both simply trying to figure life out in terms of where we were going and how to fulfill our life purposes. And now just 5 years later he is the owner of a business that he started called The Cupcake Gallery, which has now grown and expanded to the start of an additional company called Uptown Pie Company.

Just one message from him today encouraged me to keep believing, keep hoping, and keep trusting.

Sometimes it is easy to subtly lax into a state of self reliance, and dependence upon others and forget about the God factor – not only the utter necessity of His power, but also His utter willingness to do big things not just for others but for me! So as difficult as things are right now, and with an outrageous level of uncertainty, I have decided to trust God again. Has the feeling of discouragement subsided just yet? No. But my decision still remains – I will trust God again.

Posted on 2011/04, in Random and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Yes…keep trusting. Keep believing. Keep hoping!!!

  2. 1.) I didn’t know you all were real life friends! (Lol!) It’s amazing that it’s possible to make new friends w/o meeting in person….
    2.) This really encouraged me! I am currently out on a spiritual limb right now…totally trusting God in an all or nothing kinda way…and it’s scary!!!

  3. thejourneydeeper

    Yes, Nilwona I actually know that crazy brother. I am glad you were encouraged – maybe we can talk it over some day over cupcakes or a pie some day. And if Darius is in the shop, you can meet him too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

